The Hostel vs Hotel Experience

A break down of the decision making process.

Hayli Nicole
6 min readSep 5, 2017

I’ve broken the comparison between hostels and hotels into four categories:

  • The Cost
  • The Amenities
  • The Staffers
  • The Guests

I’ve selected one reputable hostel and hotel in the same neighborhood for the sake of comparing the categories of costs and amenities.

Below is why I will always choose to stay in a hostel over a hotel. Even if it means putting up with a few inconsiderate punks.

The Cost

Price point is a huge factor in choosing where to stay. That’s why platforms such as Airbnb have seen an influx of active users.

If I’m on a business trip, which requires both rest and attentiveness, I’m going to pick a hotel room. Paying extra means being prepared, and it’s worth the higher cost.

If I’m on a photography assignment, however, or playing tourist in a new city where the only things I really need are a bed to crawl into and access to a shower, I’m going to cut costs by booking a hostel.

--

--

Hayli Nicole

Award-Winning Travel Writer. Book Doula and Writing Coach. Spoken Word Poet. Vagabond and Perpetual Traveller.