5 Struggles Every Boston Terrier Owner Can Understand

Rain Haywood
4 min readFeb 16, 2019

--

8 months ago I adopted a Boston Terrier puppy, Rocket to be my service dog. Watching him grow has been an incredible experience but like every puppy Rocket can be a handful. Whether he is cuddled up under my heating blanket or tearing apart my trash he is a certified cutie pie from a long line of trouble making smushed-faced Boston babies.

Rocket at Southern Oregon University.

Before I landed on a Boston I did thorough research on the best breeds for my lifestyle and activity level then I found a craigslist post with pictures of the puppies from Rocket’s liter. I fell in love on sight and knew by the end of the day he was the one I had been looking for. I read articles and watched videos of Boston Terriers, more excited than I have ever been in my life. Finally I brought Rocket home and the rest is history as they say. Quickly I realized that the research I had done had in no way prepared me for the chaos that is Rocket. After connecting with other Boston owners I began to understand that Rocket’s behavior was in no way out of the ordinary. It seemed that the information on the internet while close to the truth had been slightly airbrushed of imperfections attributed to the breed. Here is a list, written through experience, of the real struggles every Boston Terrier owner can understand.

  1. The Smells

Arguably one of the most common complaints from Boston Terrier owners is the horrific odors that form inside their dog. Regardless of food choices or cleanliness my 20 lb dog has the ability to drive large groups of people out of a room with the noxious scents that expel from his stomach. Any lull in conversation or noise reveals a soft sound of his gas escaping his body like the warning of a siren before the storm hits. If my Boston was ever given human food I believe there would be generations of folks who would discuss the “Great Gas of 2019”.

2. The Destruction

Before getting my Boston I read that they were calm, people-pleasers. While Rocket is very much a people person (dog?) He also is a troublemaker. Early on I taught him that shoes and my possessions were off limits but this bully breed will chew on anything they can get their hands on. Boston Terriers have the perfect back legs to propel themselves on to any flat surface despite the height of the landing zone.

3. The Sounds

Most information you can find on Boston Terriers discusses the cute snorty sounds they make what those people don’t tell you is the amount of non-cute noises these little dogs can make. Bostons are a flat-faced breed which can cause many breathing issues like when my dog gets over excited (every time I come home) he begins making this sound like he’s choking. The only way to improve his breathing is to calm him down. They are also big snorers and will let you know when they are unhappy by the whines and throaty rolling sounds that can come out when they are really frustrated.

4. The Attitude

Bostons are well known for their stubbornness and attitude they expel through every look, sigh, and the occasional silent treatment. When Rocket gets mad at me he will often go hide for a while or he will sit right beside me with his back turned and ignore me for as long as his attention span can allow. I would be lying if I said it didn't hurt my feelings a little but he always comes around.

5. The Food Obsession

While researching the breed I found that one of the most common pieces of advice was to monitor the diet and food intake of the dog as Bostons are prone to obesity. What they don’t mention is that these dogs will eat anything. No matter how clean your home is or how regularly you feed them Boston Terriers seem to always be hungry and they will eat anything.

A Short List Of Odd Things My Dog Has Eaten Or Attempted To Eat:

  • Tissues
  • Sriracha
  • Makeup Brushes
  • Shoes
  • Cigarettes
  • Stuffed Animal Pieces

Boston Terriers are incredible dogs to own. They are the perfect companion with a sense of humor and hours worth of energetic entertainment. Despite the struggles I would not trade my Boston Terrier for the world.

--

--