Kindle Unlimited Vs Wide

The Most Asked Question By Authors

Hazel Paradise
2 min readApr 19, 2022
Photo by Olga Tutunaru on Unsplash

This has been a long debate about whether to go for Kindle Unlimited or wide. Let’s have some deeper insights and bring an end to this.

I have been on Amazon for so long. Like almost three years but has started publishing recently. I write romance so of course, the best advice anyone can give is to just go into Kindle Select. And I did it without thinking much. At first, I made a few sales and a few reads but nothing more. After having twenty books, the royalties were such that I could pay only my phone bills. (Remember people are making more but it depends on a lot of other factors). Then with my next romance book, I went wide.

And the results?

I was earning more in sales than in Kindle Select. I was earning from other marketplaces I didn’t know about. The same book was being bought from different retail stores.

Kindle Unlimited Edition Normalized Page count (KENP) pays between $0.004 and $0.005 per page.

In Kindle Select, daily I was earning in cents and the danger of depending on a single platform for money is not good.

Account gets suspended and terminated. We all know that. I don’t have to go deeper into this because we have lots of stories on the net. Some were scammers but some were legit. Some did things that their competitors were doing but when they did the same, it lead to their account getting banned. (Software problem or something else, only Amazon knows it).

Previously, it was easy to write books and publish them on Kindle Select because people were less in the self-publishing industry. People were mostly going through traditional publishing. Now, you’ll find that even those with a software background are publishing books on Amazon. Why is that?

Because there was some easy money. Even if you go all-in with Amazon, you’ll be earning good money every month. But that time has gone. Say goodbye to that.

I wake up every morning with a fear that their algorithm must have captured something that even I don’t know. People develop fear when they earn money from one income stream.

Does it mean Amazon is bad? No!

Publish on Amazon but go wide. You can test Kindle Select but renew only when you see sales, otherwise, this world is big and still there are many retailers that we even don’t know the name of.

And above that, no one is ever in favor of a monopoly.

If you want to know more about making money through writing shorts, then you can check out my book “Small Ebooks, Big Money”. Happy Writing Journey!

--

--

Hazel Paradise

Top Writer On Medium. Writer of 90+ books under multiple pen names. Yes, I make money writing ebooks.