OMA

Hazim Basit
4 min readMay 26, 2016

--

OMA is one of the greatest architectural firms within the modern century. I have chosen their Jussieu Libraries Wood Model (which I posted directly below), 1992 to model. OMA developed this piece with their well-known technique of slabs, columns and loops. This is the technique I used, for my own model. I decided to incorporate some of Oma’s techniques by adding loops to the building.

Jussieu — Two Libraries (1992)

This technique frames the way we view the city by showing a representation of the interactions going on in the world. Using slabs, columns and loops shows how everything is connected. Rather than just stacking one level on top of another, Oma connects multiple floor planes to form a single trajectory. Olafur Eliasson,2007 discusses how space is a background of interaction rather than a co-producer of interaction. He highlights the notion of space existing as an element of the interaction itself and stresses the importance of it. Oma’s techniques are similar to this notion as their models also stress ‘interaction’. By using slabs and columns to connect everything they show how all elements of life interact with each other. This further once again shows us how their perceptive of viewing the world is shown throughout their work (Ellingsen, Abruzzo and Solomon, 2007)

My chosen choice of medium was Balsa wood due to it’s fragile and easily cuttable properties suiting my needs.

For my iterations I started off with a simple configuration to conceptualize my ideas (IMAGE ONE).

IMAGE ONE

My second iteration was an improved version of the first, due to me shaping it a bit more distinctively because I had a better understanding of what to improve on thanks to my original model (IMAGE TWO).

The third model provided the base of my building and space which was the most crucial but forgotten part of my project (IMAGE THREE).

The fourth model was a combination of the third and second models (IMAGE FOUR) and the model I used as the basis for my last one which combined aspects from all my iterations. (IMAGE FIVE).

IMAGE FOUR
IMAGE FIVE

My space , again, was constructed with the intention for it to feel ‘open’ as I intended for the viewers to be feel like they were living within a free space as well as seeing how everything was connected.

Classwork/Exercises which helped me develop my final project:

My first draft model iterations were created back when I was still mistaken about what iteration was and thought I simply had to re-create my building with paper. I also did not create it to scale for a 15x15 base as well as using tape/staples which we were instructed not to use. The models did not stand as well which was a requirement.While the ideas were scrapped the paper (while slightly damaged due to external circumstances) was kept:

ORIGINALS

My second draft model iterations, while to scale, were not real iterations. I created these with the idea in mind that I simply had to make figures similar to my building and thus it was randomly madeand did not show my process which I later learned thanks to my tutorer was the goal of the assignment. My final draft model was also wrong due to me having the incorrect base and forgetting that we were not allowed to use paddle-pop sticks within our project.

SECOND DRAFT MODELS
FINAL INCORRECT DRAFT MODEL

References:

Abruzzo, E., Ellingsen, E. and Solomon, J. (2007). Models. New York: 306090 Inc. p 18–25

Jussieu — Two Libraries (1992): http://oma.eu/projects/jussieu-two-libraries

--

--