How to Make DIY Easter Candy Mason Jars

Easter is just around the corner, and if you are looking for fun Easter basket ideas, then you have come to the right place! We’re sharing three today that your kids will absolutely love.

We’ve chosen three different themes based on the books Hush, Little Bunny, The Good Egg, and You Are My Happy. Follow the directions below to make handmade candy jars based on each of the books, and we’ll be sharing a few ways to fill your Easter basket!

Supplies:

  • Mason jars
  • Spray paint
  • Acrylic paint and a paintbrush
  • Card stock or scrapbook paper
  • Hot glue
  • Glue stick
  • Scissors
  • Circle cutter (optional)

Instructions:

1. Spray paint the jar with three to four coats of paint, allowing each coat to dry thoroughly before applying the next. You can even paint the jar lid too; just make sure your spray paint will adhere to glass and metal.

2. If you want your child to help make the jar, then this next step is the perfect one. Cut out ears and facial features using scrapbook paper. Alternatively, you can paint the facial features directly onto the jar using acrylic paint and a paintbrush.

3. Use hot glue to attach ears to the jar lids. Kids can use regular school glue to attach any facial features to the jar that have been made from card stock or scrapbook paper.

4. Apply a sealer over the top to protect the paint from scratching off and set aside to dry overnight.

5. Fill your Easter candy jars with your child’s favorite candy treats.

To match your child’s nifty new candy jar, grab their favorite Easter basket and let’s start filling it, too! Each one should have:

  • A copy of Hush, Little Bunny, The Good Egg, or You Are My Happy.
  • A handmade candy jar (filled with your child’s favorite candy, of course) based on the character from the book.
  • Assorted trinkets including chalk, pencils, rubber duck, and other themed toys that you can find inspiration for on the pages of each book. These will make story time extra fun.
  • You could even include the bunny from our handmade bunny tutorial that we shared recently based on the Hush, Little Bunny book.
  • For The Good Egg, we’ve also included a wood egg made to look just like the Good Egg. You can find wood eggs in your local craft store. Simply paint it, and then use black card stock to make the glasses.

Featured Books

You Are My Happy

From Hoda Kotb, the Today show co-anchor and the #1 New York Times bestselling author of I’ve Loved You Since Forever, comes a book about gratitude for the things in life — both big and small — that bring us happiness.

As mama bear and her cub cuddle together before closing their eyes for a good night’s sleep, they reflect on the everyday wonders of life that make them happy.

Inspired by her own nighttime routine with her daughter, Haley Joy, Kotb creates another beautiful treasure for parents and children to enjoy together. With charming and lush illustrations from bestselling artist Suzie Mason, this soothing yet playful lullaby explores the simple joy of taking a moment to be grateful.

The Good Egg

From the bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, a timely story about not having to be Grade A perfect!

Meet the good egg. He’s a verrrrrry good egg indeed.

But trying to be so good is hard when everyone else is plain ol’ rotten.

As the other eggs in the dozen behave badly, the good egg starts to crack from all the pressure of feeling like he has to be perfect.

So, he decides enough is enough! It’s time for him to make a change…

Dynamic duo Jory John and Pete Oswald hatch a funny and charming story that reminds us of the importance of balance, self-care, and accepting those who we love (even if they are sometimes a bit rotten).

Hush, Little Bunny

Hush, Little Bunny is a heartwarming, lyrical love letter from a papa bunny to his little one — from David Ezra Stein, Caldecott Honor-winning creator of Interrupting Chicken and Leaves. Fans of Kevin Henkes and Beatrix Potter will adore this gorgeous book.

Come, little bunny, don’t be shy . . .

“Hush Little Baby” is a lullaby that parents have sung to their children for generations. Now Caldecott Honor winner David Ezra Stein has reimagined the classic featuring an irresistible papa bunny and his little one.