Zac Duckett
1 min readJan 25, 2022

Book Report: Digging Up Mother: A Love Story by Doug Stanhope

Written by Doug Stanhope, Digging Up Mother: A Love Story is an autobiography covering the importance the comedian’s mother played in his life. I had no idea who Doug Stanhope was before I started the book. However, it continued to come up as suggested reading and had 95% 5-or-4-star ratings on Amazon (something that is extremely rare in my experience).

After briefly researching the author, I bought and began the book (via Audible) blindly. Flat out, it is absolutely incredible and I found it hard to turn off. Full disclosure, he is a comedian and the book covers crude and R-rated subject matter. But, assuming you’re good with that, I can’t recommend this book enough because the story is amazing and uniquely touching.

At 336 pages or 12 hours and 44 minutes, it has some length but you’ll enjoy every second of it.

#books #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookish #booknerd #bookaholic #readersofinstagram #writer #bookreview #bookclub