Navigate the Sleep Map: A Doctor’s Strategy for Dealing with Insomnia and Enhancing Sleep Quality

Esam Shahlol, MD
10 min readJan 1, 2024

Treating insomnia begins with improving sleep, one of life’s greatest pleasures that we all love and cherish! But have you ever asked yourself, how much do you love sleep? Do you truly understand its importance? Do you fundamentally respect it? Because if you love something, it is supposed to be revered, understand its entrances and exits, and comprehend its value.

I love sleep, and this is evident to everyone, whether from my family or friends. Since childhood, I preferred sleep over most temptations in our present day, but of course, I would stay awake if necessary (not necessarily for studying).

In my first attempts to improve the quality of my sleep, I would escape from strong lights and move with the least amount of light possible at night. I darken screens to the maximum and use other programs to increase darkness or block blue light.

I remember well when I used to sleep in the outer room of the old apartment, and there was a large glass door between the two rooms that was not completely transparent but allowed light to go through.

I was subjected to what I called light torture by my older brother, where he would stay awake (or sleep with the lights on) most nights, and wars would ensue between us…

--

--

Esam Shahlol, MD

Libyan Health enthusiast | MD based in Germany | Blogger | Join me on my journey to a healthier life | EsamShahlol.com