The Way We Remember People When They Die

Prof Dr Jan Bonhoeffer
4 min readJun 9, 2020

A dear friend of mine just passed away, and tonight my heart is filled with sadness and love for him. Many images are crossing my mind, many pictures from the past.

I remember on one occasion, we were both in Geneva together, which is about three hours from where I live. I missed the last train home, after a long meeting at the World Health Organization, and I was very sad because I wanted to get back to the family. I had promised to be home in time for a family event in the morning.

“You know what, Jan?” my friend said. “I can see the sadness on your face. Let’s jump in my car, and I will drive you to Basel.”

We spent three hours together in the car, and we arrived in the middle of the night. We had to open the front door very quietly, as the whole family was asleep. When we stepped inside, he saw three little pairs of shoes just inside the front door: the shoes of my children. He snapped a picture of them on his phone.

We both went to sleep that night, and then early the next morning, after just a few hours of sleep, he got in his car and drove home to his family.

I’ve known my friend for many years, and he has always been a valiant warrior for social justice. He was a member of the Staff Association of the World Health Organization, where his job was to support the…

--

--

Prof Dr Jan Bonhoeffer

There’s never been a better time to revise our understanding of health and our role as caregivers.