How to Heal Our Stress

Leave the damaging “red mind” behind and go swimming.

Heather Lee (Dyer) Perrault
4 min readJun 17, 2020

--

At the beginning of each year cabin fever is prevalent in most of the northern states in the USA. Especially in the mountains where snow and cold temperatures may remain for three or more months out of the year.

By March most of us are yearning to get back outside after a long winter. Walking, running, bicycling and summer sports are either difficult or mostly impossible when there’s snow on the ground or the temperature is freezing. We are eager to get out and work in our yards, do home improvement projects, really anything to get us out of the house.

Then this year, just as we were welcoming spring, COVID-19, and the quarantine hit and we’re stuck back indoors again. Another few months of a self-imposed winter.

Thankfully, in our state, we were still encouraged to get outdoors and walk, and for most of Idaho, that is completely possible to do while social distancing. Even though I was allowed to do it, some days I just didn’t feel like going anywhere. Not even around the block.

What was wrong with me? I finally didn’t have any commitments outside my household. I could set my own work hours. Why wasn’t I more productive and getting outside regularly?

--

--

Heather Lee (Dyer) Perrault

Nomadic Writer. Author of YA Sci-Fy and UF books! Author Success Coach. Lupus Thriver! www.heatherleedyer.com