Heaven Ramsey
2 min readAug 5, 2017

The Enigma of Having Mild Cerebral Palsy. Where Do I Fit In?

Throughout my life I have kind of felt like I don't fit in anywhere. When I was small it felt like there was no one like me in this world. I wasn't quite like all my friends at school because I had mild CP and was only in mainstream classes yet I felt not quite like anyone else I met with a disability either. As a small child it was so hard to find acceptance of my CP and to truly understand it is ok to be unlike anyone else. Everyone is different. I truthfully struggled with this for quite some time. Those of us with a mild disability struggle extremely hard to find our place in the world. Sometimes it can seem as if you aren't accepted anywhere. This is where acceptance of yourself is very important. The realization, that in all honesty, no one is like anyone else can be a hard one to reach. Once you find it you feel as if a weight has been lifted from your shoulders! To be yourself in a world that doesn't embrace differences can be difficult. It is within yourself you will find the light to sparkle like a diamond! In the end you are perfect just the way you are and you just need to believe that for yourself. Never be afraid to be yourself, believe in yourself and understand no matter what the world thinks it's within yourself you will find acceptance.

Heaven Ramsey

Cerebral Palsy Princess Cofounder of #CPDreamTeam Junior Miss Knox County TN 2017 Little Miss Shining Star 2016 https://www.facebook.com/AStairwayToTheStars/