8 Creative Ways to Exercise Daily Without Making Time for Exercise

Heba Sourour
5 min readJun 11, 2020
Hands holding up a sign saying, “we don’t have time.”
Photo by Markus Spiske from Pexels

For reasons that differ from one person to another, it can be quite the challenge to make time for exercise on a regular basis. Crazy busy days fly by, and those plans to go jogging or sign up at the nearby gym more often than not go neglected. But not finding time to do regular exercise should never demotivate us from practicing other forms of physical activity, even if lightly. There are so many different ways to move our bodies, with no specific limits as to time or space. And it can be a matter of incorporating some simple practices to tasks (or non-tasks) that we already do every day.

I am sharing a list of some practices that I created for myself to help me break the ice of my sedentary lifestyle of late. Normally, I try to do these on a daily basis, but I don’t beat myself up if I miss any. I also allow myself to take weekly breaks from the commitment, if anything, for purely psychological reasons. (Though light physical activity is safe for most, please check with your doctor if you have any pre-existing conditions.)

  1. Walk as you take your calls. Whether these calls are ones from family, friends, or coworkers, why not take them on your feet. Pace the room you’re in or even go for a stroll outside for as long as the calls last. And consider wearing a pedometer or downloading an app that would track…

--

--

Heba Sourour

Editor | Avid Reader | Contemplator | Mother | Forever Student