Finally, Monday!

Hedvig Mejstedt
2 min readNov 3, 2021

--

Half of the course has passed. Wow. It feels incredible that half of the time has passed and that I’ve enjoyed and cherished every second. It is amazing to be able to say that I’m longing for Mondays, and mean it! But am I now a pro that always knows how to solve the problem and never does anything wrong? No.

Today, I spent hours adding a picture to a website. At least, that was my intent. After finishing most of the weekly project in half a day I was suddenly stumped by this seemingly simple thing. Why won’t it work?!

Hands typing on a computer. Picture from Pexels.

After trying and trying and trying, I asked for help. When I realized the problem was something that I had never encountered before, I reacted with stress and the thought of giving up kept coming back to me. But I am a person that rarely gives up…

When I’m at the bottom of the emotional roller coaster, my programmer friend cheers me up by reminding me how often he and his colleagues make errors and what small errors you make all the time. Something as simple as a missing semicolon or not realizing your wifi connection dropped can frustrate even experienced developers. This time, I had the opportunity to learn more about asynchrony and race conditions.

In spite of the stress, and the feeling of being the dumbest person in the world, I solved it. With the help of a good friend and the internet, you can solve anything!

--

--