Why I Don’t Go To The Gym

But I Still Get Plenty of Exercise

Heidi Swan
2 min readFeb 17, 2018

--

I work in construction. I don’t love the job, but it’s pretty good, and I get a lot of exercise each day. Climbing ladders and stairs, carrying tools and materials, and installing material, basically replace the need for going to the gym.

My last job was a dual-position as a receptionist and social media/website manager. I loved the work I did, but I hated sitting all day. I biked to and from work everyday, weather permitting, and tried to walk around as often as possible.

For the most part it’s not too bad; I work for my boyfriend, and we work for a friend of his. It’s pretty chill, I am still learning so I just help them with whatever they ask of me, and I work on my own when they don’t need my help.

Females are definitely outnumbered on the jobsite, and honestly it’s a hard job for a woman… I’ve had men completely ignore me, I’ve had little boys (can’t call them men) hit on me or cat call from a distance, or treat me like I can’t even carry a small ladder — I can’t totally hate on that one, because it usually means someone carries it for me… but still, I am capable.

Sometimes I get a bit cranky before lunch or at the end of the day, but my boyfriend reminds me to be professional. I just try to talk as little as possible, and only ask questions to help me work better. Maybe crack a joke and hope someone laughs!

This job is great for my physical health and my mental health. I am physically active for at least 7 hours a day. I am learning how to install siding, soffit, and fascia. Plus I’m learning how to listen carefully and remember all the steps in the correct order. It’s a challenging job.

Do you go to the gym? Or avoid it all together? How do you get daily exercise?

I’d love to hear your thoughts on my post in the comments!

I am seeking constructive feedback to improve my writing… so if you have any of that… let me know!

As always, thanks for reading!

--

--