Helen L
5 min readFeb 20, 2016

--

Hi Talia,

I would recommend looking for a new job ASAP, moving away from SF/Bay area for an entry-level job that can afford you a reasonable cost-of-living, and removing this post. I completely understand it is hard getting into the real world (I’m being genuine and not condescending) and transitioning from being a student to the hustle and grind of the real world. I have friends at my age, 30, that are still working crappy jobs and trying to find a balance between what they love and their creativity in the arts (writing, visual arts, etc.) and making a living. My friends are very fortunate to have parents that still support them, but at some point you will have to gain independence and be able to provide for yourself.

Similar to you, I graduated with a Social Science and/or Liberal Arts degree that does not offer many opportunities aside from Starbucks and entry-level roles such as Customer Service and Sales. I worked in a sales role for a great accounting software company when I first graduated. This entry level role allowed me to work in a professional company, where I interacted with all levels of the company from Customer Service, Finance, Marketing and Product Management. It was only $35,000 a year and with commission. I also had the luxury of living at home, as I knew I could not afford a decent living outside of my home. I would honestly be very happy if I had full benefits, free food, and the opportunity to move up after a year. A year is not a long time.

I would recommend the following in your feature endeavours, and say this to you as I would to a future daughter or a younger sister.

  1. Understand demand and supply, in terms of your skills and your city. Demand and supply relates to every facet of your life. High demand to live in a city like SF and NYC, expect high costs of living as demand (number of people wanting or currently living there), exceeds supply (housing). I lived in a basement apartment in Cole Valley when I was attending my coding bootcamp in SF, and was lucky to find one for $850.00 a month with two roommates. Would I prefer to live alone and have windows with beautiful light streaming in? Yes, but my wallet did not allow for that. Be real with your current situation and what you can afford. Now for your skill set, English writing skills and creativity to write funny tweets. Unfortunately, as much as many of us would love to get the job we want right away, whatever that may be, we have to work shitty jobs or less highly-coveted jobs to get there. Perhaps, an entry level role in copywriting would be more suitable for your career progression. Expect the same shitty wages however, work your way up, and do not bite the hand that feeds you, even if they are wrong; they’re still feeding you.
  2. Do adequate research before moving to another city. I understand your father is close by, but unless you were planning on living with him, many other factors you need to look at as an adult. No one is looking out for you, YOU are looking out for you, okay? And the world does not owe you anything, you have to hustle and also realize that roles in creative sectors, writing, acting, visual arts is traditionally lower-paying and can be unstable (freelance type of work). So my suggestion before moving is check out the job market, look at the cost of living, and also of course, pick a city you can reasonably like. If you like nice weather, Arizona is an option, Texas, and even Southern California in the LA area where there are entry-level writing jobs for startups, etc. I would suggest looking into “copy writing” or “technical writing.” Technical writing, I would recommend reading TechCrunch, learning basics of coding on Code School or Code Academy before diving into. Yes, it may be not be your dream job, but it will take you CLOSER to your dream job than another entry-level job, customer service, that has less to do with your dream job. Take anything any side job at this point, for example get a job waiting tables instead of asking for money from strangers on the internet.
  3. Consider honing another skill set, aside from English writing skills, which most college graduates have some level of proficiency in to make you valuable as a prospective employee. What do you offer? Why should I hire you? Do you have a specific skill set that is rare? I struggled this with myself when I first graduated and was in a similar predicament, with a job, but not my dream job. I quickly realized there are many graduates like me and very few good jobs. I didn’t have the work experience to get into the dream jobs, and I hadn’t quite figured out the dream career I wanted. It sounds like you don’t have a trust fund waiting for you, most of us don’t, so you will have to find a happy balance between your ideal career, and working your way up and finding skill sets the economy currently demands. Copy writing and technical writing actually offers many opportunities, I would highly recommend considering gunning for these roles and in your spare time, you can write funny tweets and explore your creative side. If you are like me, middle-classed parents without a trust fund, trust me you will have to fight for your keep. I ended up going to a coding bootcamp in the SF/Bay area and got a job with a great company afterwards. My salary doubled and a half, and I had a skill set after the bootcamp. I understand code, can create a basic application, and understand the software engineering process which is critical in my role now.
  4. Think before you speak/write/rant. As much as I would love to publish every thought that goes through my head on my angry and worst days, I do not do this. Protect your reputation, and understanding ranting is something you can do with your personal friends and family, please have the humility to accept feedback and constructive criticism. I think, if you had spoke to one of your friends or trusted parental figures, they would have given you similar advice to what I am telling you now. Separate how you feel, and with the reality of your situation. Your situation was not so horrendous, and giving full benefits is actually amazing. You honestly shouldn’t have moved to SF if you knew the cost of living was so high, or you could have found an ugly basement apartment like me with hipster roommates to pay cheaper rent. Sorry girl, #toughlove but truth.

Good luck on this journey, and feel free to email me (helen.f.lam100@gmail.com) if you would like help looking for a job and figuring this out. Please delete this post so it doesn’t get around, and work hard to survive and find your dream job. Be real with your budget, and it takes years and time to fulfill your ideal job and move up the ladder. Be patient, and enjoy each day! Take ownership over your life and responsibility, unfair things happen but don’t complain or ask for handouts, HUSTLE.

Unlisted

--

--