Chewed and Forgotten

Soul Unnie
2 min readJan 16, 2024

Beneath a shoe, I’m a gum, sinking low,
Once a sweet treat, now lost, colorless in woe.
Pressed and forgotten, like a whimsical show,
A chewed-up gum, on a path of woe.

Beneath heavy steps, I’m a mournful song,
Every footfall a dance, a somber throng.
Stuck on the bottom, a shoe’s cruel feat,
Once vibrant, now tough and colorless, feeling obsolete.

The sweetness all gone, like a flavor that’s past,
Faded and worn, a memory that won’t last.
Under the shoe, where shadows are vast,
A gum with a story, hoping to be surpassed.

Yet, in the stickiness, a carnival’s distant call,
A chance to break free, though I still feel small.
For even beneath the shoe, where sorrows befall,
A gum, not just chewed, but trapped in a thrall.

A story emerges, as I endure my fears,
From the grip of the sole, a struggle to bear.
No longer just a relic, tossed into the air,
I remain beneath the shoe, burdened with care.

--

--