Why I’m Leaving One of the Top Virtual Reality Companies

I have some news.

Helen Situ
4 min readJun 5, 2017

For the past three years I have worked at NextVR, one of the top virtual reality companies in the world.

We raised $100 million in funding and partnered with the world’s top sports leagues and broadcasters. In my role I worked on business development, product, marketing, and I spent time educating people, across the world, about the power and potential of virtual reality.

As of today, this is all changing.

My Announcement: Last Thursday was my last day at NextVR… and I couldn’t be more excited about what’s next.

Let me explain.

Why I’m Leaving NextVR

For those reading this who may not know, NextVR is the leader in live video for virtual reality. They create content with the top sports leagues, broadcasters, concerts, and more.

But it wasn’t always this way. When I joined NextVR, we were just a handful of people in a nearly empty office dreaming about what the future might look like. It’s amazing how far we’ve come.

Building NextVR was an amazing experience, and it completely changed my life.

NextVR threw me headfirst into the world of virtual reality, and empowered me to travel the world and meet the top minds in the industry.

The decision to leave has been incredibly difficult and emotional.

I want to thank Dave Cole, Brad Allen, and David Cramer for this life changing experience.

I will always appreciate the opportunity NextVR gave to me.

NextVR threw me a surprise going away party!

Why am I leaving? It’s time. It’s time for a new challenge.

Here’s what I’m doing now.

I’m Working On Something New

During my years in the virtual reality industry, I have learned a lot. Way more than I ever expected.

I have had the privilege to see a tremendous amount of data, experience next generation software and hardware, gain insights from top minds, and get perspective on how the mainstream perceives virtual reality.

This information has led me to uncover a few untapped opportunities in the virtual reality industry, and that’s what I’m exploring right now.

If you want to work together, or be the first to know what I’m working on, click here.

You can also reach out to me here:

I am so excited to talk with you about the future of virtual reality and see you at upcoming virtual reality events.

Which brings me to my last, and most important point…

I Love the Virtual Reality Community

The virtual reality community has helped me meet many of my greatest friends. The passion, drive, and creativity within this community is so uplifting and inspiring.

I love it. I love it times a bajillion.

Thank you so much for including me at your conferences, events, parties, and especially the late night conversations. These have been the best years of my life.

We are going to build the future together, and I am overcome with excitement.

Keep building incredible experiences, continue to push the limits of the medium, and know that we are less than 1% of the way there. We can do anything.

I look forward to seeing you soon. If you’re interested in connecting, click here.

Please tap or click “︎❤” to help to promote this piece to others.

--

--