A (late) New Year’s resolution

Helen Throp
1 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Today I set up a GitHub Pages site using my GitHub account. I expected this to be a difficult process but I found it surprisingly intuitive and easy, although perhaps this is because I have some experience with using Git and have had a Git client installed for some months.

The process is very simple; all you need to do within GitHub is go to the Settings page, open the Pages section, and your site should already be live and waiting for you. With the free version of GitHub you can only do this for a repository named “YOUR-USERNAME.github.io”, but I understand that with the paid version you can do this with any repository.

In fact, the most difficult part of this process was remembering where to go in the settings to change my username! (It’s in the settings menu which drops down when you click your profile picture in the top left, under ‘Account’). This was also the most time-consuming part of the process, as whenever you change your username GitHub provides a long list of warnings to make sure you aren’t making a bad decision.

I then did just enough research into making a theme for my page with Jekyll (a Ruby gem) to realise that I couldn’t improvise my way through it with my almost non-existent Ruby knowledge. For now, I’m settling for formatting my site with CSS.

And my New Year’s resolution, a day late, is to learn Ruby.

--

--

Helen Throp

Second-year MMath student at the University of Warwick, aspiring software dev, interested in finance careers