Let’s Start

Erkan Ala
2 min readJan 9, 2019

--

Let’s Start

I have never written humor in my life. Let me correct it, I have never written in my life. If not enough, English is not my first language. So, I don’t know how it will turn out. But as every spoiled millennial, I have unbeatable confidence that I will nail it.

I’ve been writing some little stuff here and there. Many things I write are probably stolen by my subconscious from some other stuff that I have read. So sorry about that.

As I used it to introduce myself, English is not my first language. I am from Istanbul and living in New York. I have two copies of elements of style. I didn’t read both of them. I will read both of them in time, and if you follow my stories enough, and if I don’t get bored of writing before finishing the books, hopefully, you will see some improvement on my writing.

Statistically, I will fail very soon. So that is why I am not using my original name. This is the real reason. And the made-up reason is that I am experimenting with how far I (or someone) can go without promoting myself (themselves) from my (their) well followed social media accounts.

And also, let’s remember what Pope Jude the Law said:

“Who is the most important author of the last twenty years?

Salinger.

The most important film director?

Kubrick.

Contemporary artist?

Banksy.

Electronic music group?

Daft Punk.

The best Italian female vocalist?

Mina

Now, do you know what it is, what the invisible red thread is that connects them all, all these most important figures in their respective fields?

None of them let themselves be seen.”

Let’s start.

--

--