Starting My Own Country

Erkan Ala
2 min readFeb 21, 2019

--

It was enough of 9 to 5. I quit my job and decided to be my own boss. I was going to start my own company. Thanks to the recent popular startups, it was the time when people were supportive of any ideas that you have. Everybody was afraid of being an innovation blocker, not looking hungry and foolish enough. The people and, the state.

After a certification program, you could apply with your business plan to start a new business with financial support from the state. So I started the certification program. It was in a banana republic university campus on a tiny building in my neighborhood. I went there once a week with a bunch of enthusiastic entrepreneurs. One of them wanted to start her nail salon, and she had a great business plan for it. Another one wanted to dive into honey business because it was the future, he was not sure though. And another one, who looked the most sain, wanted to fool the system and take the money for his already up and running business.

I went there for 2 months. I learned about business planning, taxes and all the tips to be the next Steve Jobs. There was one thing I learned that inspired me the most. The taxes. I was fascinated with the idea of how the state is the business partner of all companies without any investment that holds 30%. How it takes %30 of your profit every year if you are profitable, if you were not, it didn’t care. That was inspiring. So I changed my mind from starting up a coffee business to start a state in my neighborhood. I was going to be the business partner of all the enterprises in the area with a 30% share. The idea was great, but the timing was wrong, so as the 999999 out of 1000000 startups, I failed in my first day.

My other stories:

Let’s Start

Just Ordered A Baby From Amazon Crane

When Mark Zuckerberg Was Reading My WhatsApp

How did you guys meet?

That Diner

Dreaming Of Retirement

Starting My Own Country

West 4th Station Cooked My Lunch

Saturday Night Fever

I Recycle, Therefore I Consume

--

--