Winter Palace of the Bogd Khan

Emily
3 min readFeb 25, 2016

--

I saw the Winter Palace of the Bogd Khan while a local was driving me around Ulaanbaartar. I was immediately drawn to the bright yellow.

I went the next day for two reasons: it was walking distance from my apartment and it had a pretty high ranking on Trip Advisor. It was simply to cold to walk around aimlessly exploring the city which is what I prefer to do. There was a fee to get in and another fee to take pictures. It was rather high but I knew if I didn’t take pictures I would regret it. So please enjoy these pictures that I had to pay money to take!

As Lonely Planet says, “For reasons that are unclear, the palace was spared destruction by the Russians and turned into a museum. The summer palace, on the banks of Tuul Gol, was completely destroyed.”

The museum has lots of fun stuff. There are also six temples on the ground. I was the only person around the temples which was a dream come true. I guess, the cold scared people away. I took pictures to my hearts delight. The lighting was constantly changing which was a fun challenge. I would be taking a photo of a building I liked but the lighting wasn’t “just right” so I would focus on something else. I would turn around and then THE LIGHTING WOULD BE PERFECT.

After a while my hands were simply too cold. I got some postcards and went to a coffee shop for a warm drink.

Have you ever had a “tourist site” all to yourself? Did you enjoy it?

Like this:

Like Loading…

Originally published at emilylouisekugel.wordpress.com on February 25, 2016.

--

--