Dave Fontenot
1 min readJan 26, 2016

She took her life

Stole it back from the world

/

Vibrant personality

Extinguished

/

Years of pain

That she could feel so much suffering

/

My body chill to the core

A compulsion to reach out

/

But it’s too late

/

A permanent ending

Humans are not the Phoenix

/

I want to reduce suffering

A friend’s suicide

My biggest fear

/

It keeps me up at night wondering

Did we do everything?

/

We could’ve called

Messaged

Texted

Snapped

/

A realization

We can’t save everyone

As a matter of fact

/

So many unknowns

Why why why

Brain chemicals

Keep asking questions

Often no reply

/

Medication for this and medication for that

But drugs can’t solve everything

Drink some more water

From the tap

/

Loving each other helps

But sometimes the hardest thing is to

Love ourselves

/

Sit up straight

Meditate

Savor the moment, today

/

I want to devote my life to improve mental health

Unlimited work to do

I’ll start with my self