Dave Fontenot
3 min readMay 3, 2016

--

Took a walk through Chumphon

2 hour layover for my bus

Just got off the ferry from Koh Tao

/

Walking down the main street of the town

People smiled

Sawadee Kob

/

The cold food at the songserm bus station wouldn’t do

On a mission i search

Looking for fresh food

Every place has it sitting out

/

Walk past fisherman

People hanging out everywhere

Life here seems like chill fun

It smells like fish

/

Reach a bend

Its time to turn

I’ve walked in half an hour, its 6, and my bus is at 7

/

Some people say hi and smile

They seem nice and are cooking fresh chicken

I ask how much

5 baht

Ill take 4

/

I take the secondary road

Try something new

This side of town has less bustle and food

The sun is setting

/

I but some plantain chips

They’re sweet and delicious

/

Out of nowhere a huge, colorful temple arise

Wat Pak Nam Chumphon

I decide to walk through

/

Young men playing soccer

Ball ball ball

I gaze longingly

They invite me to play

/

Put my chips and drink down

Jump in

Immediately begin exerting energy

/

My team charges down the field

I fake a shot

Pass

GOAL!!!

We’re having fun and that’s just chance number one

/

Someone sends me the ball

I shoot and miss

That’s ok

No way to play it wrong

/

A few minutes later

I make a steal

Pass right away

Call for the 1–2

Fake a pass

Strafe towards the goal

Take a rip right after the move

GOAL!

/

Kab kon kap

I wish then well with hands folded

Thank them for the game

And hurry on my way

Gotta catch my bus

/

Shoot a couple hoops on the way back

Looking forward to future layovers in Chumphon

Ill play more pickup next time I’m at this crossroads

/

Get to the station

The bus is there

Luckily no one stole my bag

The thought had been lingering on my mind that I shouldn’t have left it there

But it was fine

/

The bus is there

But there’s a delay

I make 2 new friends from Bath

They are sitting there after 10 days in Koh Tao

Playing with a cute little baby kitten

/

We chat

I share poems

They share tales about the north

I feel Chiang Mai calling my name

/

We talk about mosquitoes

Dengue

Malaria

Rabies

My main worries as I explore

/

Dusk is setting in

I don’t want to get bitten

So I go inside

/

A couple minutes later

I hear yelling

Dogs begin to fight

2, 3, 4, 5

/

Courageous foreign women immediately grab water and towels

Yell at the dogs

Try to stop the fight

/

Watching it

Its intense

Dogs up on hind legs

Biting at each others necks

/

Eventually the women with the help of locals

Get in between the two main dogs in the fight

It ends

/

I ask my new friend to message himself on my phone so I can ask about the places they discovered in the north

/

The sun sets on Chumphon

Time to hop on the bus

--

--