VBA vs. Python: Deciding Which Language Is Worth Your Time?

Helped by a Nerd
6 min readJul 11, 2023
VBA vs. Python
Image by author

VBA vs. Python — Which one is better and when should I choose which one? In this article, we will explore the key differences between VBA and Python and when which programming language is the right one.

Why I Am I Writing About This Topic

I am familiar with VBA as well as with Python. I started with VBA and learned quickly that it is a powerful language to automate everything in Microsoft Office applications like Excel, Word, or Outlook. I wrote dozens of VBA macros and automated things like ordering processes, ad-hoc analyses, generating invoices, inventory management, or extracting data from different sources.

After a while, I had the chance to get familiar with Python and worked on use cases where I worked a lot in the field of data engineering, data science, and building web-based applications. The reason why I am writing about this topic is because I know the strengths and weaknesses of both. There were many situations where I wished I could use both of them at the same time.

What Is VBA and What Is Python

Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) is the programming language you can use in Microsoft Office applications like Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Access, etc. It’s mainly used to automate…

--

--

Helped by a Nerd

Helped by a Nerd: Engineer who writes about automation, software engineering, and digital tools.