How I got compensated by British Airways, and why it isn’t enough

40Q
2 min readJan 17, 2020

--

Every few days, we like to pen down real stories that we come across/work with that summon the law. One of those stories is the showcase of this piece.

A few years ago, as a student about to start my Ph.D, I was boarding a British Airways (BA) flight to Grenoble, France from New Delhi, India. I was due to touch down the next day and sign my contract, and it was the absolute last day to do so. Things became nasty when the BA check-in counter denied boarding over an immigration document which looked ‘like a piece of paper’. Arguing to no avail, I was forced to book another flight from the airport (with a phone borrowed from a kind gentleman, since I didn’t have local currency) with Air France. Long story short, 3 transit flights and 2 overnight layovers later I somehow made it in time to sign the dotted line. All the anxiety, distress and terminal-hopping aside, no visa issues miraculously.

This incident of feeling like an underdog or sans armor against powerful opponents left a mark. Being a tech guy, it ignited my desire to solve this for myself and others via a startup. Through a potent mix of tech and legalese supplied by legal experts on 40Q, we fought BA leading to this:

Response from British Airways apologising for their conduct

Ain’t good enough though, since this is only a drop in the ocean compared to what we are owed. Corporations dwell on consumers’ ‘let-it-go’ attitude, and we say don’t. The fight is in Round 2. Game on.

Have a legal question, or a fight you’re thinking of letting go? Give us a holler. We’re moving fast, and fixing things.

https://www.fortyq.com

--

--

40Q

FortyQ’s robot lawyer provides legal ease from rowdy landlords, employers and more.