Which is more important for computer science students, computer organization skills or programming skills?

yash hemrajani
2 min readAug 8, 2022

My voice is always with coding.

I always value candidates with solid programming skills over those with only subject matter knowledge.

If you are a beginner, I would like some advice on how to prepare to enter the industry. I wrote an answer to the question, What should a novice programmer in his early twenties do? So it looks like this:

As a programmer in my late twenties, I’ve now learned things in my career that I wish I had learned a few years ago that I wish I was in better shape. I work for a well-known organization and I am no different than anyone else on this planet who always wants to do their best and achieve more in their work.

So here are some things that come to mind from time to time. I wish I could have done it years ago in my career. In my early twenties, I never bothered to improve my programming skills. I was an average programmer who could spend hours solving simple programming problems.

The problem is that I didn’t pay attention to the details and tons of learning material available on YouTube and Geeksforgeeks. The Internet offers a wealth of knowledge that can be utilized in ways that are far more interesting than a nasty literal learning style. I wish I had paid attention and studied the concepts of data structures and algorithms long ago.

Currently, there are many testing platforms such as Hackerrank, Hackerearth, Geeksforgeeks, etc., which provide users with the opportunity to take coding tests while improving their technical rank by solving these problems. Many organizations these days nominate candidates based on rank, whether the university is his Tier1, Tier2 or Tier3.

Stay up to date with the latest technology. Sticking to one could end up in no man’s land in a few years. Be flexible and learn new things. So, today’s mantra is “Do it all, be the best”. Last but not least, don’t just be a moderator, be a good moderator.

There is a shortage of people in the industry who can stand in front of an audience and speak with confidence. Demonstrate responsibility and take initiative. Practicing this a lot will definitely help you in this industry in the long run.

Keep coding every day. happy coding.

Connect with us on whatsapp : www.qodeit.com

Looking for guidance in your research work, we have helped 500+ scholars in designing novel algorithm with Machine learning/ deep learning/ Blockchain based solutions , Research implementation, comparing the work with state of the art work, writing technical documentation and papers.

Visit our website: QODE IT

Email us on contact@qodeit.com

--

--