Why You Should Quit Vaping and How…

Henry Hoffman
4 min readJul 27, 2022
Photo by Matt Sirr on Unsplash

My Story and What I Wish I Could Tell My Younger Self.

Similar to many teenagers who began vaping when e-cigaretts became popular, I originally started because I really did enjoy it. Running to the locker room in between periods to meet friends and hit our vapes in 9–12 grade. Though once I began college I noticed the effect it was having on my life — the constant need to have it on me at all times, freaking out if I could not find it in my bed or around me, going through one to two Juul pods a day. Not to mention the financial toll it had on me as a broke college student. Some days I would skip a meal in order to have enough to feed my addiction.

Firstly, I believe it's vital to look at vaping statistics to fully grasp how many individuals of all ages have an e-cigarette addiction.

In a study done in 2020, more than half (54%) of adolescents that were e-cigarette users want to quit. Of those samples, two-thirds (66%) were unable to quit their addiction. (MedPageToday) It’s not as easy as you may think! As these numbers continue to rise, especially for younger generations, it is critical to assist those looking to quit nicotine usage.

It took me about 6 months to truly quit vaping and this is how I did it.

What I First Tried…

I was convinced going cold turkey was the only way to quit, but time and time again I fell back upon my old habits. I would last about three days without it and have withdrawal effects including headaches, nausea in the morning, and overall irritability throughout the day.

This only gave me more excuses to buy a new vape in order to avoid such withdrawal symptoms, though deep down I was disappointed with myself each time I would buy a new one. By this time, I had spent thousands of dollars on vaping pods and batteries.

What Strategy I Found Effective…

After 6 months of trying to quit, I decided enough is enough. I did research and found a strategy that involved vaping 3% nicotine pods compared to the normal 5% for a period of two weeks. This tapering tactic was just what I needed.

For two weeks I vaped 3% pods and limited myself to one pod a day for the first week, and half a pod a day for the final week. The two-week period came, and although I wanted nothing more than to keep my vape, I knew it was time to quit.

The following three days of the withdrawal symptoms were a cakewalk compared to the cold turkey tactic. I reached the one-week mark of quitting my vape, and although I still had the desire to hit it just once, I had come too far to fall back.

Effective Tips Once You Quit…

The most effective tip I found was creating other forms of dopamine release that did not involve nicotine- I found exercising the most helpful tool that aided my journey of quitting vaping. I understand it’s not everyone's favorite activity, but it worked wonders for me. Every time I was studying or at home and was craving nicotine, I would do 10 pushups. Although I can not explain why, after I was finished with my pushups, I would no longer have the desire for my vape.

Secondly, I found gum quite helpful. Keeping your hands and mouth busy as a distraction from nicotine urges worked great. I would recommend gum, small snacks, and even water.

Finally, creating a negative connotation to the urge to hit your vape is a tactic that numerous of my friends found vital in quitting. Every time they had the urge to hit their nicotine device, they would snap a hairband on their wrist. This, over time, created a negative response by the body to such cravings.

Overall, though it was a journey, I can’t explain how glad I am that I did quit. Although it was difficult and took some time, I am very proud of myself for overcoming my addiction. I hope that these tips help those looking to quit vaping, and trust when I say…

If I can do it, you can too.

Who to Reach Out to For Help

For those looking for help quitting nicotine, here are a few sources that are my personal favorites.

  1. Jones for quitters is a vaping cessation company that offers nicotine replacement therapy. Nicotine replacement therapy is clinically proven to be the most effective way to quit. This involves alternate devices or nicotine lozenges.
  2. Truth Initiative offers an anonymous text message program that sends “evidence-based tips and strategies” as well as messages from young people who successfully quit and their tactics to cease nicotine addiction. Its target audience is those 13 to 24 years old and has helped 500,000 youth and young adults quit vaping. By texting DITCHVAPE to 88709, you can begin receiving once-a-day messages tailored to your age and product usage.
  3. Smokefree.gov offers a free app on your cellphone that I found quite effective while I was quitting- it offers a day count of how far you’ve come, how much money you have saved, and celebratory messages once you get to certain milestones.

--

--