Apple Magic Keyboard

Henry Kim
3 min readOct 13, 2015

--

I’ve been waiting for the Mac input accessories with built-in battery, and it’s finally here.

I was very surprised when I saw the box. It’s very small. I could already see how small the actual keyboard was going to be.

There’s a keyboard, lightening cable, and some pieces of guide. Apple started using Lightening port to other Apple accessories, and I already gained one from Apple TV Development Kit. Each new Apple input device(Magic Keyboard, Magic Trackpad 2, Magic Mouse 2) can be charged using a Lightening cable which comes with the product. If you use Mac and iPhone and think about getting additional cables, you might just want to get Mac accessories. I welcome this change since I always have a Lightening cable on my desk and can charge the Keyboard whenever I need to. It will save much more time than changing AA-size batteries.

The keystroke is very similar to MacBook, and I’m not sure I like this. It’s definitely lighter feel, but I’m too used to pressing a bit deeper. At least it’s adaptable. And bigger keyboard button is nice change.

Magic Keyboard is the first keyboard from Apple that supports both wire and wireless environment. You just plug a lightening cable to setup the keyboard, then you can turn off Bluetooth and still use it while it’s still wired.

Compared to Apple Wireless Keyboard, Magic Keyboard has lower keystroke and height, and you can’t adjust it. Maybe bad for some, but I think these won’t destroy my typing experience.

Now I’m waiting for Magic Trackpad 2.

--

--