< Labor day />

Roy Kim
3 min readSep 4, 2017

--

So today is Labor Day,

This is how the building looks like on busy days like this:

Pretty messy, huh?

Anyhow,

Today is superheros’ day.

Today we honor…

(•••)“the contributions that workers have made to the strength, prosperity, laws and well-being of the country.”(•••)

We are basically honoring the guy/gal that wakes up everyday at 5–6–7–8 AM to fight traffic in order to provide the bread for the family. The person that helps to run the system in which we are living in. The ant that empowers the colony. The core. The superhero.

To me, those are the ones that take the I-95 (Interstate Highway) and leave an hour and fifteen minutes before, to be able to arrive on time.

Let me give you the traffic report from today:

What usually takes me 1 hour, took me ¡17 minutes!

I felt really good for all the superheroes out there. I imagined myself having an American breakfast with my family, instead of being there, the heavily congested I-95.

Then I thought:

What if traffic never existed. Would superheroes deal with less stress everyday, hence, be more motivated to work? Would they spend more time with their families? Would they be happier?

Maybe, or maybe not. Only God knows.

Then I thought:

When I was working @ HSI, the CEO would not give us some holidays, not even the major ones (unpaid holidays, unpaid religious holidays, you get the big picture).

So those holidays I took the I-95 too. It was not congested at all, but I was still mad, like ‘trafficky’ days.

I was not grateful.

I was not thinking about the superheros.

I was not thinking about having Argentinean breakfast with my family.

I was thinking how much I hated working on holidays & and how much power my CEO had over me.

How silly Roy?! Why would you expose yourself to that? and by that I mean,

LACK OF MOTIVATION.

So today I had class, and I loved it. (#no sarcasm at all).

I’m motivated, folks. I’m motivated.

Positive | Motivated | Happy | Delighted

Maybe — and only maybe — the solution for happines is motivation.

Thank you again.

®

Facebook | Instagram | LinkedIn

Clap as many times | Share as many times | Comment as many times

--

--

Roy Kim

We’re all⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ Minimum Viable Products⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀ ⠀⠀⠀Perfection is an illusion