What I Learned When I Finally Planted My First Vegetable Garden

Valerie Sizelove
6 min readApr 13, 2018
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

New Beginnings

It was the month I graduated with my Bachelor’s degree when I planted my first vegetable garden.

My older sister had brought me vegetable seedlings as a graduation gift (after I had ranted on Facebook that I would never be able to start a garden).

The timing seemed appropriate because of the prospect of fresh starts.

I was newly pregnant, so my husband dug out a 5x5 garden bed for me. I carefully arranged and planted the basil, mojito mint, bell peppers, strawberries, cucumber, zucchini, heirloom and cherry tomatoes that my sister had gifted me.

I did lots of reading about small vegetable garden basics online.

And then I waited.

My very first baby vegetable garden!

Accountability

Before this year, I had never grown anything successfully. I’d started indoor seedlings numerous times but always neglected them or accidentally left them outside to perish.

I made mediocre attempts at growing seeds in the old garden bed behind my moms house. But never any results.

--

--

Valerie Sizelove

Early 30’s, mentally complex, twisted and honest, reflecting and growing, catching and sharing gems with all my kindred. Soul connection addict. Shapeshifter.