Just Shut Up and Listen

4 steps to becoming a more “mindful friend.”

Valerie Sizelove
8 min readJun 8, 2018
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

As I’m scrolling through my friends’ posts in my Facebook newsfeed tonight, I’m noticing lots of sad posts.

Oh, how I know these posts. Right now, I’m going through some tough times too. But I’ve finally figured out how overcome them more peacefully. It works wonders for keeping a positive outlook.

I used to post some pretty open and depressed complaints on Facebook, many of which were attention seeking. What an easy place to pour my thoughts out to people with little to no real life social consequences.

But I’m done with that. Instead, I’ve been working on the new skill I call being a “mindful friend.”

Lately…

I’ve been working on posting less of the dismal updates. Instead, I’ve remained rather silent. I’ve begun to take more interest in my friends’ lives — their successes, their worries, their failures, their heartbreaks. There is so much that I didn’t realize was going on when I was locked away in my own little fairyland.

Remember, we’re all going through this loneliness thing together.

Instead, tonight, I used my status to offer empathy and encouragement to my friends who expressed that…

--

--

Valerie Sizelove

Early 30’s, mentally complex, twisted and honest, reflecting and growing, catching and sharing gems with all my kindred. Soul connection addict. Shapeshifter.