Plants – Plant Life – Flowers

Euphorbia’s Green

February’s Secret Green Plant You Rarely See in Garden Centres

--

Seedling. Photograph is by the author

A plant that will accentuate your lawn

As a gardener and a writer for several decades, I enjoy finding new plants to write about as well as imagined worlds and plots.

Today I am taking you to my little plot of woodland garden and to a plant that fits right in here with a seed head that is the same vibrant green as an untreated lawn.

Euphorbia takes years to grow to its full stature and needs space, which might be why you rarely find this plant at the local garden centre.

Euphorbia in the distance. Tulips and lily in the foreground. Photograph is by the author

I have to admit that this plant has grown on me. I admit too that when I first discovered it around ten years ago, I didn’t like it.

Euphorbia Oblongata

Euphorbia Oblongata. Photo by author. This one is 7 years old

But I have grown used to its perky green habit in February, and it tends to stay green right…

--

--

Hermione Wilds Writes - Writer and editor

Top WRITER: Art 2023; Editor; Awards nominated writer; MA., B. A; Author; soft landscape gardener; editor of 'All's Well' & 'Shoe Love Mag''. Mum to 5 adults...