Why Don’t I Use AI To Write?

Or Do I?

Hermione Wilds Writes - Writer and editor
Edit OR
Published in
3 min readSep 8, 2022

--

Image was created by the author and is a screenshot of the author’s short story, available on Medium

I have been writing on this content-management blog we know as Medium for 4 months now, as a member, and 6 weeks as a non-member before that.

I don’t use AI to write my blogs. Yes, I realise that you can do this, but where would be the fun in that? I admit, I did think about it.

Should I? I like change. I like growth. I like trying out new things. But no, I enjoy writing. This is why I won’t use AI to write with.

I want to experience the pain of writing my first draft, editing it, deleting the superfluous, the cliches, the obvious, the sentimental, and the boring.

Once you have earned the right to create something novel and break rules you can do this as a writer. I cannot earn the right if I do not write and give the work to artificial intelligence.

Some of the eagle-eyed readers among you will have noticed the typo in the work featured above, published on Medium in July this year. I have created a screenshot, and used this as my image above. This cover was different to the title of the work in the story. One read The Characters’ Jacket and the other read The Character’s Jacket. This was deliberate, and is a subtle nudge towards the idea in my story itself that there is a character wearing a jacket, or are there two characters?

--

--

Hermione Wilds Writes - Writer and editor
Edit OR

Top WRITER: Art 2023; Editor; Awards nominated writer; MA., B. A; Author; soft landscape gardener; editor of 'All's Well' & 'Shoe Love Mag''. Mum to 5 adults...