The most important things I had to do to save $100,000* before I turned 30 in Singapore

He Ruiming
11 min readFeb 3, 2019

WE HAVE MOVED TO WWW.THEWOKESALARYMAN.COM, please check back there for the latest content

FOREWORD: Let me just say that saving $100,000 is by no means impossible. SG Budget Babe has done it. So has this other person. Still, I knew when I was 25 and fresh out of uni I found it incredibly daunting. So I wrote this to help all future 25-year-olds figure out how to start.

In July, 2014, my mom had a stroke. It was the kind that sticks with you till the day you leave the earth. She almost died, and she never fully recovered.

Seeing my mom transform rapidly from the spritely (albeit grumpy) woman she once was to someone who needed assistance going to the toilet made me realise two things.

  1. Her treatment was going to cost. My parents were ok financially at that point, but I didn’t want to be a financial burden. Like ever.

2. Working 40 years is crazy. I didn’t want a life like my mom’s — working crazy hard and then never being able to enjoy retirement with her kids

Both of those reasons pushed me to read about being financially free early in life. That led me to find this article by the Straits Times.

--

--

He Ruiming

I’m just the co-founder of The Woke Salaryman. All content has been moved to www.thewokesalaryman.com I express slightly more extreme views here.