3D Model by Marcin Blaszczak for Cyberpunk, a game by CD PROJEKT RED

Jackie has to die.

My secret game design technique of 15 years that you can steal to make all of your offers sell better.

Jordan Parker
5 min readMar 23, 2024

--

“Gotta live like a legend first, though, eh?”

Jackie is one of the first characters you meet in Cyberpunk.

In the chrome-filled streets of Night City, he is one of your few true friends. And the only person that got your back. (Although a certain hologram did his best.)

But not two hours into the game, Jackie tragically dies.
(In a highly illegal robbery, but… errr… Cyberpunk takes action in 2077 and the rules are different there. He’s a good guy!)

“No, no, no. I can’t have that!”

Was my first thought seeing that. So I reloaded the game and did things differently.

But… Jackie still died. In the exact same way.

So I tried again.

Then again.

And again.

But no matter what choices I made, I couldn’t change anything. Jackie was “destined” to die.

Complete Freedom for just $174 Million

--

--