One idea that helps me write sales pages crazy fast

Don’t click this if you work in enterprise

Jordan Parker
2 min readMar 26, 2024

--

User personas suck.

The only use for user personas is to get the entire marketing committee to all agree on something. They don’t actually help with marketing.

Okay.

Everyone from a big corporation closed the article already. We can chat in peace now.

The issue with personas is simple:

They aren’t real people.

A persona is a combination of traits vaguely describing a person. But it’s an abstract person. Completely detached from emotions, feelings, and bias. Aka everything that makes people click.

Here’s what I do:
(& what I believe is infinitely better)

I talk to Real People™ instead

*not to be mistaken with UNreal People™ which might include orcs, lizard-people, wizards, and creators who only type with 2 fingers on a keyboard.

So, my formula is… not really a special formula.

I simply:

  1. Imagine a person who has a problem my product solves.
  2. Then I write who that person is, what the…

--

--