The easy-ish and best way I use to grow any social network (even Medium)

This isn’t growth-hacking advice.

Jordan Parker
3 min readMar 27, 2024

--

The way:

“Just make friends.”

Yep, social media also follows the rules of shonen anime. As most good things do.

But how does that aCKcHyUally help you grow?

In 2022 I started a new Twitter account.

As a meme.

I was making a YouTube video about Twitter and I figured, why not challenge myself to grow to some random follower number — those videos do well!

Week 1: I tried things out.

Met a few cool people. Figured I should aim for 1,000 followers by the end of the month. Big enough number to be impressive and absolutely doable.

Week 2: Was weird.

I found that I actually enjoyed Twitter. It just clicked with me. I was not only growing but having fun. (I love fun so much, I spent 9 years programming & designing games.)

… so I kind of abandoned the challenge.

Well, I still did the challenge, technically. I was 3 hours late but I hit 1,000 followers and documented every single day.

--

--