Annie Brown
1 min readOct 26, 2015

--

I really enjoyed reading this piece. As a budding editor myself, I have a question for the editors of this piece. What influenced the decision to mention that Jeannot was not a name assigned at birth and to start to exclusively refer to them as Johnny for the rest of the piece three-quarters of the way through the article? (It didn’t seem to me like Jeannot had decided to refer to themselves exclusively as Johnny in this point of the narrative; it seemed more like a more arbitrary choice made by the writer/editors.) Most profiles and essays about transgender, agender, and genderqueer people that I’ve read tend to address pronouns and name changes toward the beginning; I know that with this particular piece, doing so at the start would have interrupted the flow of the narrative, but why wait until the article is nearly over? Many thanks in advance for your answer!

--

--

Annie Brown

Proud @McDanielEnglish '15 grad eager to write a great next chapter—if only to write a great next Twitter bio. I curate http://englishmajorhumor.tumblr.com.