How I market my product without spending a dime and still get targeted users

Febin John James
ART + marketing
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2017

My recent work was the book Cloud Is a Piece of Cake. I was sure that spending money on marketing a $2.99 book when you know nothing about marketing wasn’t a good idea.

I had to come up with a different approach.

I had to get into the mind of a consumer and trace his steps that leads to a purchase.

I analysed behaviour of my pals.

  1. ) They will be usually procrastinating on the internet
  2. ) Visits a link that interests them.
  3. ) Checks for a demo.
  4. ) Works with the demo . See’s if it’s appropriate for them (This build a connection between user and the company)
  5. ) Makes the purchase.

I followed the same steps.

I started writing articles about cloud computing which gave the user practical value like a demo. This is an example post.

Then I add the following line at the end of every post

Enjoyed reading this? Do you want to learn to create virtual machines, build a cloud app, secure and scale it? The above is just an excerpt from the book Cloud Is a Piece of Cake .

That’s it. Post it in hackernews, flipboard, reddit etc.

Free advertising, targeted users and sales .

If this post was helpful. Do like this post, Upvote it , ReFlip it, etc.

Thanks a ton!

--

--