12 Books, 12 Months

Brittany King
4 min readMar 9, 2017

--

Image from Huffington Post

Two years ago, I was on a Skype interview for an (unpaid) internship in Dallas. I had to get it. I knew I’d be perfect for the role. It was going to be my ticket to advertising stardom (is that even a thing?).

I answered every question perfectly. I glanced at the faces of each interviewer. Caught the smirk on one face, the glimmer in another’s eye. I wowed them. Mid-interview, I thought, I’m the shit.

Then, one question derailed the entire interview.

“So, Brittany, as an aspiring writer you must read a lot. What do you read? Who is your favorite author?”

Do I read? Am I a well-read person? I was in high school. But that was four years ago. Two months from college graduation and I couldn’t muster up a title of the last book I’d read. I couldn’t think of any book I’d read.

“Uhh, of course I read. I mean, I’m with graduation and stuff, but I read,” I said.

Lies. I didn’t read. The interview ended. I was not selected. It’s doubtful that my lack of a personal library is why I didn’t get the job. But in my mind, that’s why I didn’t get it.

I’m one of those annoying writers. You know, the ones with the stories about when they first fell in love with writing; how they excelled at writing in all levels of school; about their stressful time as the yearbook or newspaper editor of their high school. I was that kid. I still am. I still want to be a writer. I am a writer.

To be a good writer, you have to practice it daily, be open to edits/criticism and you have to read good writing. That’s been the hard part. Reading. I’ve made excuses about not having enough time, about there being nothing good to read, etc. That was all bullshit. I knew it was bullshit as the excuses fell out of my mouth. But I kept lying to myself.

In November 2015, I participated in my first NaNoWriMo. It was amazing. I finished a novel that I’d joked about writing for my entire collegiate career. When it came time to publish it, I didn’t know where to start. As I started researching my options, every author said the same thing: start with agents/publishers who print some of your favorite books. Books like yours.

I didn’t have any favorite books. I mean, I did, but they were teenage angst type books. Stuff like It Chicks, 13 Reasons Why and anything by Ellen Hopkins. I liked some dark shit in high school. My book wasn’t that though.

I ignored all the advice I read and blindly began querying my novel. I got no, after no, after no (with a few no responses in between). So, I took a break. I didn’t query for about six months. Then, right before the holidays, I started back up. Again, I was taking shots in the dark. The question from that interview replayed in my head constantly. How can you be a good writer if you aren’t a good reader? You can’t. You simply cannot. I don’t care who you are, how great your diction is or how developed your characters are, if you don’t read, your work will suffer. Think of it like scoping out the competition. Spying on your opponents practice before a big championship game. Stealing the routine of a newbie dance team and touting it as your own on competition day. Only ethical.

So, right before Christmas last year, I gave in. If I was going to get my book published and write more of them, I had to read more. I started this year with two books: Year of Yes by the incredible #TGIT boss lady Shonda Rhimes and I’m Judging You by Awesomely Luvvie. The goal: to read 12 books by December 31, 2017 and to get an agent to represent me and my book.

To hold myself accountable, I’m turning to the internet. I’m semi-active on Goodreads (let’s be friends there!) and I’m committing to writing a review of each book I read here on Medium. I finished Year of Yes earlier this week, so that review will be up soon.

A disclaimer: I’m not a book critic. I’m also not the best writer to ever live. I want to be the best. I will be. I want to learn from the best. So, I’m reading books from people I believe are the best. My reviews will be about what I learned from the book, about myself, about others and what I’m going to do with that information.

I’m hoping this journey will allow me to grow as a writer, but also as a friend, sister and daughter. I want to be better for the people around me too (so this isn’t a completely selfish mission). I’m excited to have you along for the ride!

P.S. if you’re curious, a super old version of my book can be read here.

P.S.S. I’m looking for any and all book recommendations, so let me hear them! However, I am focusing on books by women of color this year. In the event that I get through 12 books before the year is over, I’ll be open to other authors.

--

--