‘Claws’ Is the TV Show I Never Knew I Needed

Ms. Willis
5 min readJul 17, 2017

--

And you need it too…

I was not planning on watching the new TNT dramedy, Claws. I’d seen previews for the show and literally said out loud, “That looks kinda dumb. I’m not watching it.” However, I was bored on the night a special screening of the first episode aired and since I was already in front of the TV for the NBA finals, I said “fuck it, I’ll watch.”

Thank. God. I. Did.

This show caught me off guard and I can’t remember the last time that happened. Throughout the whole first episode, I kept saying/thinking three things: Where did this come from? This is ridiculous. I have to see more.

Claws follows Desna, a nail salon owner in Manatee County, Florida. She and her “crew” — Polly, Jenn, Quiet Ann, and later, Virginia — are also helping the Dixie Mafia launder money for a nearby pain clinic that sells illegal drugs. Desna’s involvement is really a means to an end: she’s trying to save enough money for a down payment on a more upscale salon so that she, her brother, and her friends can improve their lives away from organized crime. Of course, nothing is that simple and all the drama and hijinks that ensue from the first episode on threaten to keep Desna from achieving her goal.

It’s a shame that description alone didn’t convince me that Claws was worth watching. Or that it’s set in Florida, the Drake of the 50 states. Or that the beautiful and brilliant Niecy Nash is starring in it. I stubbornly needed more proof, which I obviously got. But I’m telling you now, don’t be like me. Take my word for it and go watch. Especially since, after this paragraph, I’m giving you some *spoilers* and I know a lot of y’all don’t like that.

Claws has the two main ingredients that make a successful show: awesome writing and flawless acting. Any show that has Carrie Preston, Judy Reyes, Niecy Nash, and makes you forget that Karrueche Tran is Karrueche Tran has to have a great plot carried out by phenomenal actors. I don’t know how to convince you that the acting is perfect other than suggesting you watch these actors’ previous work and come back to this show to see the range in their artistry.

The writing, along with Nash, is the backbone of this show. First of all, of the five writers currently listed for the series, three are women and two of those women are Black. Diversity in the writers’ room translates on screen. It’s the difference between Nash giving a complex portrayal of a Black woman entrepreneur in the south vs. Nash doing a good job acting out a stereotype. I’m sure there are more writers involved with the series, but based on the sample and the plot progression so far, I’m hopeful that those five writers represent a writers’ room that’s as colorful as the story they’re telling.

from l to r: Virginia (Karrueche Tran), Polly (Carrie Preston), Desna (Niecy Nash), Jenn (Jenn Lyon), and Quiet Ann (Judy Reyes)

What initially grabs your attention in the script is the comedy which is either outlandish or subtle but altogether entertaining. There’s over-the-top moments like strippers at a funeral procession and Virginia’s weird story of abduction which included giant pigs growling at the smell of peanut butter on her feet. Then there’s the subtle comic relief that comes from out of nowhere but makes me laugh the hardest. My favorite so far is when Clay a.k.a. Uncle Daddy starts singing “How Great Thou Art” at Roller’s funeral. The juxtaposition of this character, who is as ridiculous as his name, sincerely singing a Christian hymn is the most hilarious 60 seconds of television I’ve seen in a while.

The heart of the plot is Desna and her relationship with the other characters. She is the fairy godmother for everyone around her, and they know it. When Desna says “I got you” there is urgency as well as sincerity in her voice that is assuring for both the characters and the audience.

On the surface, what this looks like is yet another Black woman character running around fixing other people’s shit. (sidenote: What would the world look like if Black women said ‘no.’) But Desna is a mess too. The show not only acknowledges this in a fair and nuanced way, but it also gives Desna the support for dealing with her own issues. Polly, Jenn, and Quiet Ann are as ready to go to bat for Desna as she is for them. They let her flaws be, encourage her to do better, and love her unconditionally. Even Virginia comes through for her as the series progresses. I absolutely love that Claws has this dynamic between Desna and her crew. It’s not often we see a Black woman saving folks while having people around that give her space to live freely AND will save her when she needs it.

Some other tidbits that make Claws great:

  • Everyone has their problems but the white folks on this show are a dumpster fire of ratchet foolishness and I appreciate that almost none of them have their shit together.
  • Casting Harold Perrineau as Dean was genius. This show is the last place I expected to see a real-life depiction of an adult with high functioning Autism…but here we are. I also love the honest depiction of what it’s like to care for an individual who isn’t neurotypical. It’s equally full of beautiful moments and difficult challenges; Claws displays both effortlessly.
  • I love love love that Desna got revenge on her foster parents and the writers were unapologetic about it. There was no kind of redemptive backstory forced down our throats. They were evil people, stayed evil, and then executed on screen. A Black woman was wronged by white people and wasn’t obligated to forgive them. Again, we don’t see that often.
  • Niecy Nash’s body is just…my god. There are no words.

Bottom line: Claws is near perfect (knocks on wood), Niecy Nash IS perfect, it’s been renewed for a second season, and I already can’t wait.

Claws airs on Sunday nights @ 9 P.M. on TNT

--

--

Ms. Willis

Baltimore. Teacher. Writer. Blerd. Queer. Womanist. Perpetual introvert. Serena is Queen. Beyoncé is Bae. Octavia is my Muse.