A Seasonal Approach to Writing

Sonja Natasha
2 min readNov 18, 2022

--

Photo by Fiona Murray on Unsplash

This is for all the writers like me who languish during NaNoWriMo, feel bad that they can’t follow the old adage to write every day, and want to try a different framework that is a little more forgiving.

May I suggest following the Solstices, the Equinoxes, and the moon?

  • Winter Solstice to Spring Equinox: strategize and plot. This is your time to think about what you want to write for the year, what your professional goals are, and more. I’m a plotter so I’ll also be writing out meticulous plot diagrams so when it comes time to write, I can just go. I would find something that works for your writing style. If you’re a pantser, maybe create vision boards so you’ll always be inspired when the time comes to write. This will also be the time where I’ll learn more about running my own business for self publishing while also looking for an agent and/or publishing houses that accept non agented submissions.
  • Spring Equinox to Summer Solstice: write! write! write! Don’t look back! Don’t self doubt! No editing! Let that typo go you don’t have time to fix it!
  • Summer Solstice to Fall Equinox: edit everything you just wrote! I’m fully expecting that some editing will fall into the upcoming winter solstice to spring equinox timeframe, and that’s fine too!
  • Fall Equinox to Winter Solstice: Rest! Give yourself permission to not work on writing. This is the time for some serious writer hibernation. Maybe read more books this year, or focus on doing something that is outside your comfort zone. Pick up a brand new hobby that is completely different than something you’ve done before.

Something like this appeals to me because it is highly structured, and there is a built in rest period during the toughest part of the year. This seems far more achievable than writing every day.

But there’s more! If you’re like me, you likely need even more structure and more times for rest.

In whatever phase I’m in, I intend to follow the moon.

  • Waning Moon from New to Full: maximum effort
  • Waxing Moon from Full to New: winding down
  • New Moon: Rest Day, always
  • Full Moon: Work Day, always

What does maximum effort mean for me? 15 minutes of time devoted to the intention of that season. I know 15 minutes doesn’t seem like a lot, but I have to plan for my worst day, not my best day. I know that 15 minutes is something I can squeeze in on a day where I only got five hours of sleep, worked a ten hour shift, and still need to take care of some chores I forgot to do the other day.

If you’ve done something cyclical like this, let me know it worked out in the comments!

--

--