A visual map of how I got to #cmstudio 2021

Alex Steele
2 min readAug 30, 2021

--

Some maps have a starting and ending point. Some maps have highlighted routes, possible detours or every road that led you to where you find yourself today.

I created a map for how I got to my second year of grad school in 2021. And this map contains none of the things above.

Instead, my map is an interactive collection of the past 12 months of my life. Small moments, sketched projects, high-fidelity work I’m proud of, my dogs face, and a hundred small things in between that led me to where I am today. More importantly, these are the things that have shaped me over the last 12 months to make me the designer I am. Projects I failed on, rough drafts I don’t love, final mockups, and, yes, more pictures of my dog.

I was led to CMCI studio over a year ago and grew as a designer in the countless ways. I am still here today, growing and studying, while working full-time towards fulfilling my passion of becoming a product designer. All these small moments in between will be collected and, one day hopefully, make sense. Every small moment, small project, and short dog-walk will eventually lead to the future. Where I see myself in another 12 months is unknown, but hopefully, everything I do between now and then will come into focus and lead to a much larger picture. Just as my visual map of the last 12 months does now.

You can view my interactive mosaic and click around to see all the individual photos at the link here.

--

--