How to invert a picture in 1-click using Adobe Illustrator?

If you are looking for a way to invert your designs in Adobe Illustrator so that you can use it in a vinyl cutting machine, t-shirt printing, reusable plastic stencil, spray painting mould, inverted print, or if you simply need to create a negative image to cut from as opposed to your original design, you are at the right place!

Lam Toby

--

Vector image of an owl in Adobe Illustrator

Today, I’d like to share with you a very useful technique I use very often. This is how to invert your design in Illustrator. Sometimes, I will come across a design that looks great on a white background but not on a dark background. If I want to print that design on a black shirt or other products, I will invert the image in Illustrator first to make sure it looks good.

It is really simple with the help of the pathfinder tool in Illustrator. Follow the steps below to learn how to invert your artwork in one single click:

1. Enable the “Rectangle Tool” from the toolbar (or use the shortcut key M).

Rectangle Tool in Adobe Illustrator

2. Draw a square or rectangle on top of your design. It can also be any other shape you want.

3. Select everything on this layer: From the menu, click Select > All.

A black square in front of the owl illustration

4. Now is the magic moment: Go to the Pathfinder panel and click the “Exclude” icon (click Window > Pathfinder if you cannot find the panel). If it doesn’t work for your design or layout, try the other tools in the pathfinder such as “Minus Front” or “Minus Back”.

Pathfinder panel tool in Adobe Illustrator

Done! You can now save or export your design to any format you want.

An inverted owl created using Adobe Illustrator in one-click

On a side note, if you are using a cricut cutting machine, there is a similar tool in “Cricut Design Space” called the slice tool which allows you to cut one image out of another. The tool will split two overlapping images or text into different parts, creating a group of completely new paths similar to Adobe Illustrator.

Feel free to let me know if you have encountered any problem with the steps above. You can click the 🗨️Responses button below to leave me a comment or select the specific step you want to comment on and click the 🗨️Responses button to open the response panel on the right side. I’m happy to help in any way I can. Thank you for reading and give me a clap if you find it useful. It means a lot to me as someone who literally just started writing blogs/articles in 2022.

Follow me if you want to know more about how I work productivity as a lazy artist. I will share more computer life hacks, tips and tricks for making the days smoother and easier here in my medium blog. Stay tuned for something awesome coming soon!

Check out the About page if you’d like to learn a bit more about me or check out the link here for the designs I have done previously. I have recently been working on a “Wildlife Illustration Collection” as the one in my profile picture which is also currently on sale. If you find it beautiful, you can find out more from the link below. I am also giving away a free US$15 code that can be used along with all other in-store promotions for any artwork or home decor. Simply drop me a message here in my personal twitter account or in the responses. Thanks again I hope you find something you enjoy. Cheers!

Beautiful and Unique Wildlife Animals Digital Illustration Collection by UK Abstract Artist Toby Lam

--

--