a late introduction

hollie farmer
1 min readDec 9, 2023

--

I’m always late to make an introduction, but hey, my name’s Hollie.

Let me tell you a lil’ bit about myself:

I’m Filipino-American, grew up in rural Missouri, and was home schooled until the age of 11… so if I don’t understand any social cues, you can blame my parents or the autism. I like anime and manga, K-RnB, FPS games like Valorant, and I hate the cold despite being born in December.

I don’t have many aspirations as a writer, and I’ve personally convinced myself that I can’t write for shit. Despite that, I still trudge onwards, deeper in the depths. The most writing I can do is for a four-panel comic that has no character dialogue, and that’s something I blame my lack of social investment for. In fact, I’ve only made one long-form piece, and even that seemed to be lacking in something for me. I don’t know what it is, but for the life of me I cannot write a plot out.

Create characters? Sure. Create a background? You got it.

Now write an entire plot line.

Bro, I’m crying.

Ps. I’ve rethought it, maybe a good aspiration to have as a writer would be to be good at writing.

--

--