Smothering fires

Heather Gross
2 min readAug 26, 2021

--

Wildfires have changed the landscape and the “airscape” where I live this year, and we are slowly coming back to cooking and hosting family and friends near the “hearth” again. I’m compelled to think about the ways that we need space for igniting ideas, what we destroy so that we can create and how we rediscover our hearths and our homes as places of hospitality and welcome.

For the last 18 months, our guest book has either been empty or with an “on the deck” disclaimer and as the muscles of making tea and offering appetizers return, I am overwhelmed with what I’ve lost.

empty guestbook on a wooden desk with mirror
empty guest book…

As my professional life has also changed to be punctuated with strong periods of holding space for others and then stretches of time for creativity and connection, I am working at finding a pace that is both productive and restorative. A way to engage with the shape of the day that is supportive of the big dream while making the daily steps and goals possible. I want to model this for those I work with, but also be able to talk about how preparing to host is so important, and making space for emergence is a talent to be nurtured.

This poem is helping me not rush into EVERYTHING ALL AT ONCE!

poem about fire by Judy Brown, two columns of text.
The poem “Fire” by Judy Brown. https://www.judysorumbrown.com/books

--

--

Heather Gross

Heather convenes important conversations and leads teams, programs and workshops that promote belonging, cohesion and productive collaboration.