My systems mapping process for businesses

From stories to structures

6 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

There are many types of systems maps and many ways to create them. For me, systems mapping for a business begins with listening. Listening to the story the person I am making the map for tells about their system. He decides where the story begins. I do not believe that it is useful to press a system into a predefined structure, therefore I do not use templates or frameworks to create systems maps. Every system is different and every systems steward has their own specific purpose for creating a map. I take the time to discover the unique structure of each individual system and display it in the way that is most helpful for the systems stewards purpose. In this article, I will describe my personal systems mapping process, below you can see an overview.

Systems scribing is at the center of the process. I listen to the system stewards story and ask questions, this provides me with the information I need to create the systems map. When it becomes clear during the scribing session that more information from stakeholders within the system is needed, I can facilitate a workshop using the Lego® Serious Play® method to access this information. I organise systems science workshops, to give systems stewards additional knowledge and skills to interpret their systems map and make decisions about what actions to take within the system. I will now walk you through each step of the process.

Defining the purpose

At the beginning of a systems scribing session, we define for what purpose the systems map will be used.

Story telling

In the next step, the systems steward tells their story about their system.

Scribing

While listening to the story, I translate the information into nodes and connections on a “whiteboard” on my computer. The program allows me to move around nodes and connections as the story progresses.

Asking and answering questions

When the systems steward comes to the end of their story, I will start to ask questions based on where I see information is still missing in order for the systems map to achieve its purpose. Sometimes the systems steward also asks questions. When we have answers to the questions, I translate them into nodes and connections. When we do not have answers, I will first break the questions down into smaller questions, record the remaining unanswered questions and then move on to ask a question regarding a different area of the system. Throughout this conversation, new insights are created, ideas triggered and unanswered questions and opportunities for the systems steward are revealed.

Systems science workshop

If the systems steward has questions about systems science that take more time to answer, I will suggest organising a systems science workshop. This will give the systems steward additional knowledge and skills that will help him to interpret his systems map and make decisions.

Lego® Serious Play® workshop

When I see that the answers to the recorded questions can be found with stakeholders of the system, I will suggest organising a workshop using the Lego® Serious Play® method to access this information. You can read more about why I use the Lego® Serious Play® method to tackle complexity in this article.

End of systems scribing session

The systems scribing session usually comes to a natural end when all relevant questions have been asked. When this point has not been reached after two hours, I will suggest to continue another day, after I have organised the information we have gathered so far.

Creating the systems map

After the systems scribing session, I will work on discovering the underlying structure of the information I have gathered. During the systems scribing session, I only differentiate between nodes and connections. To create the systems map, I will differentiate between the different types of nodes and connections and add boundaries.

Types of nodes, connections and boundaries

When mapping systems structure, nodes represent components or subsystems, connections represent a flow between components, a physical connection or forces holding components together. Systems tend to be nested, therefore boundaries can be used to represent systems containing subsystems.

A systems map can also show causal relationships. In this case, nodes represent variables, connections show how variables influence each other and boundaries can be used to represent categories of variables.

Categories and characteristics can also be displayed by using nodes and connections. Elements of the same category or characteristics of an element can be represented using boundaries or connections.

Lastly, nodes and connections can be used to show logical connections. A node can for example represent an action, object or individual and the connections show the logical relationship between these elements. Process maps or social network maps are examples of maps showing logical connections.

Map layout

Once I have discovered the underlying structure of the information, I will work on finding a way to display the information that makes it easy to read and caters to the specific purpose the map will be used for by the systems steward. All types of nodes, connections and boundaries can exist in the same map, but the layout of the map should make it easy to differentiate between them.

Throughout the process of creating the systems map, more questions, thoughts and tips for the systems steward tend to come up, which I record in an additional document.

Exploration of systems map

In another video call, I walk the systems steward through the finished map and the additional notes and answer any questions. The systems steward will then explore the finished map and decide if it is sufficient for the intended purpose. When the map is not sufficient yet, the systems steward will work on finding answers to the remaining questions, so we can add the information to the map in an additional scribing session.

Taking action

When the map fulfills its purpose, it supports the decision making process of the systems steward, taking actions within the system. When the steward makes changes to the system, it is useful to update the map accordingly.

If you want to know more about the different purposes systems mapping can be used for, you can read my article: How systems mapping helps your business to succeed

--

--