‘Reclaiming Hope: A Story of Redemption’

Y S emre
4 min readOct 14, 2023

--

By: Y S emre

A Wise man hopes for good but prepares for worse.

“People often say it’s not the end of the world, but in those moments, it feels like it’s the end of your world. In the midst of an apprehensive situation, sweat trickled down my temples, and tears of desolation streamed from my eyes as I found myself in a place where I had no idea what to do.

Qurat-ul-Ain, a remarkable young girl, possessed a staggering IQ of 170+ and an uncanny photographic memory. Her potential was limitless, but her rebellious streak often overshadowed her brilliance. She was not one to heed the advice of her parents and teachers, leading to a tarnished reputation.

It was Friday, October 23, 2023. As the sun rose in the horizon, casting its warmth all over the world, it brought a new hope in the midst of winter after long drizzling rain. In addition to it, something else also made this day vital for my family as I was going for an interview for my scholarship in A-Levels. My family had invested so much in my education, and this day was crucial.

However, the dusk of that day brought news of sorrows to our family. On that day, there was a protest organized by the opposition party against the government. I decided to join the protest instead of attending the interview because it aligned with my rebellious and defiant nature. As I found myself in the midst of the protest, the situation quickly escalated into chaos, and the police force began arresting everyone in sight, including me.

A phone rang at my home, and my mother answered. “Hello…”

“Are you the mother of Qurat-ul-Ain?” the voice on the other end asked.

She replied with a cautious “Yes.”

The voice belonged to a police inspector who proceeded to narrate the entire story. He informed my family that I had been arrested but assured them that no FIR had been registered against me because I was underage and a school student. He requested that my family come to the police station to secure my release.

My family, who had been anxiously awaiting good news from my interview, received the unexpected and distressing news of my arrest instead.

The news of this event spread like wildfire to every corner of the world, and people began casting aspersions on my character and questioning how my parents had raised me. This caused me to spiral into turmoil, and I made another regrettable decision — attempting suicide. I believed it was my fault, and I impulsively chose this tragic path.

When I regained consciousness, I discovered that my family had distanced themselves from me. They couldn’t endure my actions any longer. My mother had suffered a heart attack upon learning of my suicide attempt and had fallen into a coma. I desperately wanted to apologize, but I felt trapped because I couldn’t meet my family.

Soon, I received a letter from my family, in which they explained their situation more clearly. They stated that they couldn’t accept me back until and unless I changed myself. Determined to make amends, I decided to embark on the difficult path of self-improvement.

In this situation of apprehension, my mind was racing with different thoughts as I desperately needed to find shelter, and I had no idea what to do. Then, an idea struck me, and I decided to call my teacher, Adina Paracha. She had always been a staunch advocate for positive change in my life and had offered her full support when I needed it in the past, though I had declined her help back then. Today, I found myself in a situation where I was looking for that support.

When she answered the call, I explained my dire circumstances to her. I was taken aback by her response, which was unexpected. She asked, “Where are you now? I’m coming to pick you up.” I replied to her, my voice trembling with sobs.I found my lighthouse in the storm. When she arrived at the spot, I rushed toward her and embraced her tightly, tears streaming down my face. She provided me with much-needed reassurance and whispered in my ear, “I know this time is crucial for you, but I also know you will overcome the circumstances and conquer the challenges ahead.”

She then asked me to make a promise. She wanted me to commit to becoming a good human being, a good daughter, a good student, and good at everything.

It took me two years to completely transform myself in every way. During this period, Ma’am Adina played an instrumental role, and her support is something I will never forget. I excelled on the SAT test and secured admission to a prestigious Ivy League university in the United States of America. During an interview with a news channel, I dedicated my success to my parents and Ma’am Adina Paracha, as they imparted some crucial life lessons to me.

Perhaps the most important and wonderful outcome of this journey was that my family welcomed me back into their lives, a moment of reconciliation and acceptance that meant the world to me.

Words: 503

--

--

Y S emre

Welcome to my corner of the internet where words dance and stories come alive.Through my words, I aim to inspire, inform, and ignite conversations that matter.