Give Yourself Grace, You Weren’t Meant To Do It All

Sarah Higgins
3 min readOct 18, 2022

I’ve been binge watching Caroline on YouTube (check her out if you haven’t already, she’s fantastic), and her confessions about balancing work, life, and the struggles of today’s societal expectations are so, so beautiful.

I think there are compounding reasons why monologues like hers and movements like Antiwork have taken off recently.

It’s weird. I work with colleagues from different parts of the world who tell me how lucky I am to have grown up in America. I recently went to a wedding where family members from other countries praised their children during their speeches about how wonderful it is they get the opportunity to live in America.

That word, “opportunity” — it means a lot of things to many different people. I’ve found myself struggling with it a lot lately, and I apologize for the following rant coming from a place of privilege, but I think we’re all doing life wrong.

I don’t think humans were meant to live to work. Work, work, work. I don’t think it’s healthy.

I don’t think we should have to feel the guilt we feel for not having enough time in the day to complete all of our house chores because we choose to prioritize a long walk after work to decompress.

--

--

Sarah Higgins

Driven by empathy and my connections to others in this life, as we float along as unique bits of the cosmos.