“30-Day Song Challenge” — Days 1–7

Because I know I’d end up missing days if I don’t do it all at once…

Benedict Lloyd
3 min readApr 27, 2020

Some of my good friends are posting daily updates on their Instagram stories with one song per day following specific themes each day for a month. This is something that I really want to do but I’m afraid that I’d either miss a day or just lose interest after a while. SO… instead of posting once a day to Instagram, I’ll just make the list in a weekly blog format.

To that end, here’s the first part of my 30-Day Song Challenge:

Day 1: A song you like with color in the title

Since popping Daft Punk’s “Discovery” into a CD player when I was in high school, I’ve loved electronic music. Not until I discovered deadmau5’s back catalogue did I begin to truly enjoy the bigger, darker, and simpler sounds of the genre. This song, among others on “Random Album Title” still inspire my love of reverb and steady growth in my own tracks.

Day 2: A song you like with a number in the title

Phantogram came to me during my earlier days as a Spotify subscriber. I was in a period between my first journey abroad and my graduation from university and I had a lot on my mind and many more decisions to make about the direction I’d choose upon completing school. In heavy rotation were a few tracks on “Nightlife” with this track being chief amongst the bunch.

Day 3: A song that reminds you of summertime

Truly, one of my favorite musical discoveries of the past decade, Roosevelt and his first big single “Fever” were in heavy rotation during the summer of 2016. While there are many, many regrets held during that time, this track and the subsequent self-titled album by Roosevelt really lifted me up and took my mind to a more neutral, sunny place.

Day 4: A song that reminds you of someone you’d rather forget

My time in Los Angeles was, in a word, regenerative. There are many other words I could use to describe nearly two years in Southern California but the concept of regeneration holds a lot of weight to me. Among those facets of myself that were built up again, my ability to open up my heart and feel love again was at the forefront. While this track by The Japanese House remains one of my favorites to give multiple listens, it also reminds me all at once of what could have been… and what never could be.

Day 5: A song that needs to be played loud

I was lucky enough to work at a warehouse of a cafe in Culver City for about a year and a half. During that time, my coworkers introduced many artists and songs that were able to be blasted through our speakers after close. ZHU was a favorite later in my tenure at the cafe and this song, with its signature bird-of-prey cry at the beginning, was always a pleasure to turn up to.

Day 6: A song that makes you want to dance

Of the few concerts I’ve been able to go to in my adult life, one that will always stick with me was Friendly Fires at the Fonda Theater in Los Angeles. I’ve been a fan of the band since their first album in 2008 and, being from Cleveland, never expected to see them live. Fast forward eleven years and there I was, standing with a crowd of people letting the music take them and dancing like fools along with the lead singer. If there’s one band that I can move to, it’s Friendly Fires… and if there’s one song I’d have to choose, it’s this one.

Day 7: A song to drive to

Tycho is another artist I happened upon thanks to Spotify. Before the music streaming service, I didn’t have much exposure to new music. Luckily, the music discovery feature in Spotify was spot on (no pun intended) when this track came on one winter afternoon driving on a lonely road in Hudson, Ohio. From that moment on, Tycho has always been a driving/traveling companion all starting with this track.

That felt good. I’ll be back with days 8–14 next week! Looking forward to sharing more.

--

--

Benedict Lloyd

Striving to improve my craft. Nearly there… Hospitality, coffee, music, writing, and mindfulness. | Living and working in Tokyo, Japan.