Break The Moon : a 2D plateformer mobile game

Highway 2 Game
Highway 2 Game
Published in
3 min readJul 7, 2017

Hello guys, I am Bash from Highway 2 Game.

Today, I will present you a game we are currently developing: Break The Moon. This 2D platformer mobile game for Android, inspired by indie games like Super Meat Boy or VVVVV, tells the adventures of the Earth in its struggle for freedom against the tyrannical Moon.

The major confrontation of Break the Moon

The origin of the project

Some time ago, I was nostalgic for the platform games of my youth, so I searched through the Play Store. And guess what I found? Many infinite runners, repetitive as hell — even when well designed — and some few (very few) real platformers.

When I tested them, I was a little disappointed, because they did not correspond to what I was looking for: an old school gameplay with its share of difficulties. But since these games did not suit me, it was up to my colleague and myself to create a new one!

And that is why we started the development of Break the Moon, and why we decided to use the accelerometer to ensure fluidity in the movement of the characters.

The gauge at the top of the screen indicates the acceleration of the character

The story of the game

There was a time where everything was calm in the solar system, planets did align and one day… everything changed!

When Pluto was eliminated… By the Moon.

It was then chaos, some planets decided to join the Moon’s organisation, but most of them started to hide from her. Most of them, because Earth decided to get into the Moon Base, to free confined planets, to kick traitor planet’s asses, and to finally break the Moon!

The Moon will be part of the many playable characters

The gameplay

Now you know the story of the game, but what about the gameplay? Don’t worry, I will give you more details in the next blog posts but here are the main features:

  • 11 differents characters…with 11 unique gameplays
  • More than one hundred levels
  • … distributed into 5 different worlds
  • Easy-to-use In game level editor to create and share custom levels
  • Boss fights!
  • Progression saving through different devices with facebook login
  • An old-fashioned gameplay that will not make you any favor!

This is all for me today, I will give you some news very soon, so stay tuned!

PS : If you have any question or want to test the demo, please contact us on social networks :)

Twitter : https://twitter.com/highway2game/
Facebook :
https://www.facebook.com/highway2game/

This post in french : https://medium.com/highway-2-game/break-the-moon-un-plateformer-2d-sur-mobile-4aedd50b538c

--

--